EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE MARKET ADVISORY COUNCIL

8 June 2016 Rue Montoyer 24, 1000, Brussels, Belgium 13:00-15:30

MINUTES

Participants (Annex I – List of attendance)

2. Adoption of the agenda.

A point was added to discuss the continuation of the interim secretariat of the MAC.

3. Election of Vice-Chairman of the MAC, following article 18 of Statutes of the MAC.

The nominated and elected candidates were:

- Mr Sean O'Donoghue, EAPO, 1st Vice-Chair
- Ms Christien Absil, CFFA, 2nd Vice-Chair

It was underlined that the Vice-Chairs are part of the presidency team working collectively and the first and second appointment is a necessary procedure in cases such as absences.

4. Establishment of the Working Groups, following article 17 of the Rules of procedure.

Three working groups were constituted by consensus:

Working Group 1: Organisation of the Sector

Working Group 2: Market Supply

Working Group 3: Regulatory and Consumer Affairs

5. Election of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Working Groups.

Working group 1

- Mr Sean O'Donoghue, EAPO was elected Chair.
- Mr Erik Bjørn Olsen, Danish Society for a Living Sea was elected 1st Vice-Chair.
- Mr Simon Rilatt, AIPCE was elected 2nd Vice-Chair.

Working group 2

- Mr Andrew Kuyk, CEP was elected Chair.
- Mr Massimo Bellavista, EUROPECHE was elected 1st Vice-Chair.
- Ms Eszter Hidas, WWF was elected 2nd Vice-Chair.

It was noted that Ms Hidas will be on maternity leave for the first 6 months and would be substituted by Ms Samantha Burgess during this time.

Working group 3

- Ms Agnes Lisik, OCEANA was elected Chair.
- Mr Pierre Commere (AIPCE) was elected 1st Vice-Chair.
- Pim Visser, EAPO was elected 2nd Vice-Chair.

It was decided by consensus that since there is no provision on the Statutes and Rules of Procedure on the term of appointment or renewal of the Chair and Vice-chairs of Working Groups, these will be appointed for three years unless the Executive Committee decides otherwise.

EAPO proposed, with regards to the appointment of rapporteurs, that this would be decided under the working group itself rather than the Executive Committee. This was accepted by consensus.

6. Secretariat

<u>The Chairman</u> thanked Seafish for funding the preparatory phase helping the MAC moving forward. He proposed that EBCD continues to temporarily provide the Secretariat until a call for tender is launched in the future (expected January 2017). The Executive Committee agreed by consensus that EBCD will continue providing the Secretariat.

<u>CFFA</u> raised concern that EBCD is providing the temporary secretariat while also being a member of the MAC and proposed for EBCD to become a member once it has been decided who will be appointed secretariat.

<u>Commission</u> clarified that the Secretariat cannot be member of the MAC but can be member of any other Advisory Council.

EBCD agreed on temporary refraining from their active membership of the MAC (both the GA and the ExCom) until EBCD is dismissed as Interim Secretariat, since the Secretariat cannot be member of the AC. Once the call for tenders is released, EBCD will take again its seats on the MAC, should it not be selected as the official Secretariat.

7. Any other business

The next meeting is scheduled in September or October.

ANNEX I LIST OF ATTENDANCE EXCOM

ORGANISATION	REPRESENTATIVE
EAPO	Emiel Brouckaert, Sean O'Donoghue, Pim Visser
EUROPECHE	Javier Garat, Kathryn Stack, Daniel Voces
COPA-COGECA	Marina Predic, Bernhard Feneis, Cecilia Dardes
FEAP	Courtney Hough
ЕМРА	Bruno Guillaumie
AIPCE	Guus Pastoor, Aurora Vicente
CEP	Andrew Kuyk
EUFISHMEAL	Soren Anker Pedersen
FRUCOM	Anna Boulova
EUROCOMMERCE	Marina Valverde, Christian Verschugron
ETF	Livia Spera, Sammy Deburggraeve
CFFA (Coalition for fair	
fisheries agreements)	Beatrice Gorez, Christine Absil
EBCD	Despina Symons, Sandra Sanmartín, Lynn Sundelius
OCEANA	Vanya Vulperhorst, Agnes Lisik
WWF	Eszter Hidas, Samantha Burgess
Danish Society for a Living	
Sea	Erik Bjorn Olsen
EUROPEAN COMMISSION	Barbara Focquet, Martine Aussems
OBSERVERS ORGANISATION	REPRESENTATIVE
Seafish	Cristina Fernandez
Conxemar	Marta Llopis Lopez
Seas at Risk	Bjorn Stockhausen

T: +32(0)2 230 30 70